More Linkery

If you haven’t read Walter Russell Mead’s When Government Jumps the Shark, I strongly advise you to.  In it, Mr. Mead divides .gov programs up into five distinct stages that I think are brilliant in their concise descriptivity:

  • Great White Hope
  • Great White Father
  • Great White Elephant
  • Great White Shark
  • Great White Whale

My first exposure to Mr. Mead came from another brilliant essay, The Jacksonian Tradition, which I found via Steven Den Beste many years ago, and I’ve cited it in several pieces here. He’s not lost anything in the ensuing decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *